Things I’ve taught my Dad recently

4 Jun
  • What the snowflake button on the toaster is for
  • How to clean a laptop keyboard using a vacuum attachment and a fork
  • That wheat is different to gluten
  • To skype
  • That croissants and crumpets are not effective dietary alternatives to toast
  • That gay people can have children*
  • How to cook risotto
  • What I do for a living (I’ve been doing it for 3 years)
  • The difference between the internet and the world wide web
  • How to burn CDs into iTunes

Most of these are because computers “just crept up on him” (sneakily, over about 20 years). I’d write a list of all the things he’s taught me, but the world wide web would become full and servers would have to automatically delete stuff like our family’s orginal Macintosh Classic.

*This made him happy.

6 Responses to “Things I’ve taught my Dad recently”

  1. fixitdearhenry June 4, 2012 at 5:01 pm #

    Thanks for all the Facebook shares, lovely readers!

  2. JJ King (@J2koffline) June 4, 2012 at 7:55 pm #

    Do you mean RIP CDs into iTunes or burn them FROM iTunes?

    • fixitdearhenry June 5, 2012 at 10:47 am #

      Good point, JJ. I meant rip, obviously. It’s been a while since I’ve done it for myself.

  3. mywithershins June 5, 2012 at 1:06 am #

    It’s nice to see that there are still things children can teach their parents! Glad you’re helping him transition into the 21st century. 🙂

  4. Alwayswondered September 20, 2012 at 11:51 am #

    Never did understand how straw would fix the hole

    • fixitdearhenry September 20, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

      Yeah, that caused no end of confusion for me as a child.

Leave a Reply

