The 12 stages of a long distance relationship

10 Dec
  1. Uh-oh
  2. This so romantic! I bet they make a movie about us!
  3. My  judgment has been clouded by Hollywood. I’m sorry I bothered you.
  4. OK, let’s do this.
  5. This is awesome. I feel wanted but I never have to shave my legs – it’s every woman’s dream!
  6. Wow, this sucks a little.
  7. I’m going to kiss all the boys!
  8. Abstinence will enhance my creativity. Just look at Charlotte Bronte or that monk who invented the sun dial.
  9. What with the wonders of modern technology it’s like you’re really here.
  10. I know – the lottery! Why didn’t I think of that before?
  11. This sucks a lot and will continue to do so.
  12. As states of being go, constant longing isn’t so bad. I mean, it’s better than despair or a bad rash.
4 Responses to “The 12 stages of a long distance relationship”

  1. Matt December 10, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

    This made me laugh, especially number twelve! This blog is always entertaining/interesting, which makes a nice change from a lot of blogs these days! Keep it up 🙂

  2. fixitdearhenry February 21, 2012 at 1:21 pm #

    So a lot of newcomers find my my blog by googling “stages of a long distance relationship”. If you’re one of those people I’m sorry I’m not an actual advice columnist. I’m just someone who met a hansome American in a bar and gave him my email address in exchange for two double vodka cranberries (romance, eh?).

    But that got me thinking, why don’t we build our own advice column from our collective experience of LDRs? I’ve shared mine, what’s yours?

  3. Sara March 21, 2012 at 3:55 am #

    This post cracked me up! I’ve been in a LDR for over four years and I think I’m at # 11. Not sure if I’ll ever be at #12!

    • fixitdearhenry March 27, 2012 at 3:53 pm #

      Sara, that’s lovely to hear! I switch alternate between 11 and 12 about every ten minutes. At least there’s comraderie between people in LDRs. Valentine’s Day at the gym was very friendly!

Leave a Reply

